MaisonAssay For jewelers
Retailers · Policies

Brilliant Earth vs Blue Nile vs Clean Origin: returns and resizing, read on their own pages

Five jewelers' return and resize terms, read from their own pages on 23 October 2026: windows run from 10 to 60 days, and the clock starts at three different moments.

Figures read
23 October 2026, on jewelers' own pages
Next review
January 2027
Compiled and verified by
Vincent Wesley Couey 0009-0005-6869-308X
Published
23 October 2026

Maison Assay finding

On 23 October 2026, five jewelers' own pages gave return windows from 10 days (Whiteflash, lab-grown stones) to 60 days (Clean Origin), and Ritani's own pages state two different free-resize windows: 30 days on its engagement ring page and one year in its FAQ.

Read from each jeweler's return, resizing and FAQ pages on 23 October 2026; sources linked in the table.

Which jeweler has the most forgiving return and resize policy?

It depends on which clause you care about, because no one policy wins on all of them. Clean Origin gives the longest return window here, 60 days. Brilliant Earth and Ritani give the longest free resizing, up to a year. Whiteflash gives the shortest window, 10 days, for its lab-grown diamonds.

In short:

  1. Longest return window: Clean Origin, 60 days, with return shipping paid by the jeweler for US orders.
  2. Longest free resize: Brilliant Earth (up to 1 year inside its recommended size range) and Ritani (one year per its FAQ).
  3. Shortest window: Whiteflash (lab-grown), 10 days, against 30 for its branded natural stones.
  4. Capped returns: Blue Nile and Ritani each allow two returns or exchanges per customer per year.
Return windowdays, as stated 23 October 2026
Return window in days, as each jeweler states it. Whiteflash (lab-grown): 10 days days. Brilliant Earth: 30 days days. Blue Nile: 30 days days. Ritani: 30 days days. Whiteflash (branded natural): 30 days days. Clean Origin: 60 days daysWhiteflash (lab-grown)10 daysBrilliant Earth30 daysBlue Nile30 daysRitani30 daysWhiteflash (branded natural)30 daysClean Origin60 days
Read from Brilliant Earth, Blue Nile, Clean Origin, Ritani and Whiteflash. Whiteflash states two windows on one page, by product type.

How do the five policies compare, line by line?

The table sets each jeweler's stated terms side by side. "Not captured" means the page we read did not say, and we have not guessed. Where a refund or fee was not stated on the page read, the table says so rather than filling it from another source.

Return and resize terms as each jeweler's own page states them, read 23 October 2026
JewelerReturn windowClock startsReturn shippingLimit on returnsFree resize
Brilliant Earth30 dayswhen the order is available for shipment or pickupfreenone statedone free resize within 60 days at any size, or up to 1 year if within its recommended range
Blue Nile30 daysfrom the shipment datefree insured US labeltwo complimentary returns per customer per yearone free resize within 6 months, up or down two sizes; shipping is the purchaser's cost
Clean Origin60 daysthe day the order is ready for delivery or pickupClean Origin pays; free labels US onlynone statedone free resize within 60 days of the original shipment date (US, standard styles), free shipping both ways
Ritani30 daysnot capturedfree within the US, with insurancetwo returns or exchanges per customer per yearonce free within the first year (FAQ), but its engagement ring page says within 30 days
Whiteflash (lab-grown)10 daysnot capturednot stated on the page readnone statednot stated on the page read
Whiteflash (branded natural)30 daysnot capturednot stated on the page readnone statednot stated on the page read

When does the return clock actually start?

Not on delivery, for the pages that say. Brilliant Earth's page says its 30 days run from when the order is available for shipment or pickup. Clean Origin says its 60 days begin the day the order is ready for delivery or pickup. Blue Nile counts 30 days from the shipment date. If an order spends days between ready-to-ship and your door, those days come out of the window.

Where the clock startsas each page words it, 23 October 2026
Where each return clock starts: Order placed (no clock yet), then Ready to ship (Brilliant Earth), then Delivery ready (Clean Origin), then Shipped (Blue Nile), then Delivered (none state it)Order placedno clock yetReady to shipBrilliant EarthDelivery readyClean OriginShippedBlue NileDeliverednone state it
Clean Origin's wording is the day the order is ready for delivery or pickup; Brilliant Earth's is available for shipment or pickup. Ritani and Whiteflash do not state a start point on the pages we read, so they are not placed on the line.

How long is free resizing, and what voids it?

From 30 days to a year, and it is one resize in every case. Blue Nile allows one free resize within 6 months, up or down two sizes, and says the shipping is the purchaser's cost, according to its resizing page. Clean Origin offers one within 60 days of the original shipment date for US customers on standard styles, and says the offer is void if another jeweler has resized or altered the ring, per its resizing page. Brilliant Earth offers one free resize within 60 days at any size, or up to a year if the size is inside its recommended range, and says resized rings cannot be returned.

Free resize windowas stated 23 October 2026
Free resize window as each jeweler states it. Ritani engagement ring page: 30 days. Clean Origin: 60 days. Brilliant Earth, any size: 60 days. Blue Nile (6 months): 6 months. Brilliant Earth, in range: 1 year. Ritani FAQ: 1 yearRitani engagement ring page30 daysClean Origin60 daysBrilliant Earth, any size60 daysBlue Nile (6 months)6 monthsBrilliant Earth, in range1 yearRitani FAQ1 year
Ritani appears twice because its own pages disagree: its engagement ring page says complimentary resizing within 30 days of purchase, and its FAQ says engagement and wedding rings, excluding eternity bands and alternative metals, may be resized once for free within the first year. Whiteflash's resize terms were not on the page we read.

What do these policies exclude or charge for?

The same few things, in different words. Brilliant Earth's page excludes engraved, personalized and custom jewelry, rings that have been resized or modified, and Lifetime Diamond Upgrade Program purchases, which it calls final sale; it charges $40 to remove an engraving on a returned ring. Blue Nile's page excludes personalized jewelry, custom orders, engraved items, upgrade purchases and clearance items. Clean Origin treats exchanged or resized orders as final sale, returns custom orders as store credit only, and states a $100 certificate replacement fee and a possible $150 restocking fee if the return code or packaging requirements are missed. Whiteflash's page says custom or altered jewelry is not returnable, with normal sizing excepted.

Keep this before you buy
Screenshot the return and resize page on the day you order, and note the date. Three of the five jewelers start the clock before delivery, and two do not say when it starts. If you buy loose lab-grown stones at Whiteflash, the window is 10 days, so book any independent appraisal inside it.

Which policy for which reader?

Choosing the stone first? See how Brilliant Earth's Super Ideal label relates to an IGI report and the lab-grown price basket across jewelers. For the FTC wording that governs terms such as "lab-grown" and "brilliant", see 16 CFR Part 23.

How we compiled this

Method

On 23 October 2026 we read each jeweler's own return, resizing or FAQ page and copied the stated numbers, not summaries from review sites. Brilliant Earth, Blue Nile and Whiteflash pages were read by fetching the page text; Clean Origin and Ritani block automated fetches, so their pages were read in a normal browser. Where a page did not state a fact, we say so. We have not placed orders or used any policy, and policies change, so check the live page before you buy. Next review: January 2027.

FAQ

What is Clean Origin's return policy?

Clean Origin's own return page, read 23 October 2026, states a 60-day return window starting the day the order is ready for delivery or pickup, with return shipping paid by Clean Origin for US orders. Custom orders can be returned for store credit only, and exchanged or resized orders are final sale.

How long does Blue Nile give you to return a ring?

Blue Nile's returns page states 30 days from the shipment date, with a complimentary insured US label and two complimentary returns per customer per year. Personalized, custom, engraved and Diamond Upgrade Program items are excluded.

Does Brilliant Earth offer free resizing?

Yes, once. Its page says one complimentary resize within 60 days at any size, or up to one year if the size is inside its recommended range, with free shipping both ways. Resized rings are excluded from returns.

Is the Whiteflash return window shorter for lab-grown diamonds?

On 23 October 2026 its FAQ gave 30 days for its branded natural diamonds and regular catalogue items, and 10 days for lab-grown diamonds, other non-branded natural diamonds and non-catalogue items.

What free resize window does Ritani give?

Its pages disagree. Its FAQ says engagement and wedding rings, excluding eternity bands and alternative metals, may be resized once for free within the first year; its engagement ring page says complimentary resizing within 30 days of purchase. Ask Ritani which applies before you rely on either.

Do these jewelers start the return clock at delivery?

Of the three pages that state a start, none says delivery. Brilliant Earth counts from when the order is available for shipment or pickup, Clean Origin from the day it is ready for delivery or pickup, and Blue Nile from the shipment date.

undefined
☆ Save
Dashboard

From our network

Best AI Video Generators - nesyona.comBest AI Courses 2026 - edubracket.com1099-K Explained for Creators - ceocult.com